Aus Champs Wrap Up

21 April 2023
Ahmed Kelly
Written by: Swimming Victoria

The Australian Swimming Championships capped off a huge fortnight of swimming on the Gold Coast and our Victorians have once again done us proud, bringing home 5 Gold, 5 Silver and 5 Bronze medals.

Western Melbourne Propulsion’s Nicholas Layton got off to a flying start on day 1, claiming Gold in the Men’s 50m Butterfly MC ahead of Melbourne Swimming Club’s Dylan Logan. Nicholas added a Bronze to his name in the Men’s 50m Freestyle MC and Dylan went on to secure Bronze in the Men’s 50m Freestyle MC.

Sam Williamson (Melbourne Vicentre) showed fine form in the Men’s 50m Breaststroke, finishing strong to claim Gold in 27.48 and keep the title in his name.

Nunawading Swimming Club showed their strength in the relay events with Gold medals in the Men’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay and Mixed 4x100 Medley Relay events. They also claimed Silver in the Women’s 4x200m Relay and Bronze in the Women’s 4x100m Medley Relay.

At the conclusion of the Championships, the Australian Dolphins Team to compete at the World Para Swimming Championships was announced. Congratulations to Ahmed Kelly and Col Pearse on their selection. The World Para Swimming Championships will be held in Manchester from 31 July to 6 August.

Congratulations to all our medallists and their coaches:

Timothy Disken (PLC Aquatic, coached by Damian Gogall)
S – Men’s 50m Breaststroke MC

Ahmed Kelly (Yarra Plenty Waves, coached by Alex Hirschauer)
G – Mixed 150m IM MC

Nicholas Layton (Western Melbourne Propulsion, coached by Kenrick Monk)
G – Men’s 50m Butterfly MC
B – Men’s 50m Freestyle MC

Dylan Logan (Melbourne Swimming Club, coached by Mark McGrann)
S – Men’s 50m Butterfly MC
B – Men’s 50m Backstroke MC

Col Pearse (Nunawading, coached by Jol Finck)
S – Men’s 100m Butterfly MC

William Petric (Nunawading, coached by Jol Finck)
B – Men’s 200m IM
B – Men’s 400m IM

Samuel Williamson (Melbourne Vicentre, coached by Craig Jackson)
G – Men’s 50m Breaststroke

G – Nunawading – Men’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay
(Elliot Rogerson, William Petric, Silas Harris, Evan Chee)
G – Nunawading – Mixed 4x100m Medley Relay
(Olivia Lefoe, Zoe Deacon, William Petric, Zander Coates)
S – Western Melbourne Propulsion – Men’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay
(Robbe Dilissen, Lev Makaruski, Lachlan Jackett-Simpson, James McBride)
S - Nunawading – Women’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay
(Chantelle Underwood, Kirralee Shepherd, Lucy Webster, Reidel Smith)
B – Nunawading – Women’s 4x100m Medley Relay
(Olivia Lefoe, Zoe Deacon, Abby Harrington, Abbey Kearney)

For full results click here.




Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top