History made at Vic Open Champs

23 February 2023
Sam Williamson Vic Open Champs
Written by: Swimming Victoria, Image: Con Chronis

 It was a star-studded field at the 2023 Victorian Open LC Championships with 40 members of the Australian Dolphins Swim Team, an abundance of international para stars and some of Victoria’s most talented swimmers making it a memorable weekend of competition.

Once again, the Championships played host to the first round of the Citi World Para Swimming Series, bringing some of the best para swimmers in the world to Melbourne for the three-day event.

Triple Olympic Gold medalist Kaylee McKeown was at her best. The Griffith University swimmer again showed her love for the MSAC pool claiming Gold medals in the Women’s 100m Breaststroke 1:06.86), Freestyle (54.66) and Backstroke (57.93) and the 200m Freestyle (1:58.21).

Melbourne Vicentre’s Tamsin Cook was a top performer. She finished first in the Women’s 200m Butterfly (2:16.16) and 400m IM (4:54.61) against a tough field. The 24-year-old also added 2 Silver medals in the Women’s 800m (8:44.95) and 400m Freestyle (4:14.91) events and was a key contributor in the club’s relay success.

Local hero Sam Williamson put on a show for his home crowd. The dream run continued for the Vicentre swimmers with a Gold medal in the Men’s 50m Breaststroke, breaking the Victorian Allcomers Record with his time 27.42.

In the para events it was a medal spree for Australia. An outstanding performance by Tim Hodge saw him take home seven medals, including 3 Gold, 2 Silver and 1 Bronze. It was a thrilling finish for Hodge on night three, breaking his own Para World Record in the Men’s 200m Multi Class IM. Saving his best for his final race, he touched first in 2:13.38, shaving .05 off his previous world best set at last year’s World Para Swimming Championships in Madeira, Portugal.

History was also made with our first ever able-bodied and para relay event. Teams comprising of two para swimmers and two able bodied swimmers battled it out in the mixed 4x50m Freestyle event. Japan proved too strong for the locals, taking out the title ahead of Geelong and Melbourne Swimming Club.

The standout Victorian performances are recognised with ‘Swimmer of the Meet’ Awards. Congratulations to the following swimmers:

Swimmer of the Meet – awarded to the male and female Victorian athletes who achieved the highest FINA point score for a swim at these Championships.

  • Samuel Williamson (Melbourne Vicentre) – Men’s 50m Breaststroke, 847 points
  • Isabella Boyd (Nunawading) – Women’s 200m Freestyle, 807 points

Multi Class Swimmer of the Meet – awarded to the male and female Victorian multi class athletes who swam closest to the world record time for their classification.

  • Col Pearse (Nunawading/Australia) – Men’s 100m Butterfly MC, 782 points
  • Sarah Howe (Ballarat Gold) – Women’s 100m Freestyle MC, 579 points

Congratulations also to the following award winners:

Allen Challenge Trophy – Men’s 100m Freestyle – William Yang (SOPAC)
Pearson Challenge Shield - Men’s 400m Freestyle – Matthew Galea (SOPAC)
Pearson Challenge Shield - Men’s 800m Freestyle – Matthew Galea (SOPAC)
Dr John Connell Trophy -Men’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay – Japan
Len Blease Shield - Men’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay – Nunawading ‘A’
Charlotte Turner Trophy - Women’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay – Nunawading ‘A’
Betty Holdsworth Trophy -Women’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay  – Melbourne Vicentre ‘A’
Amy Mott Trophy - Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay – Nunawading ‘A’
Sam Harris Memorial Shield - Men’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay – Nunawading ‘A’

All awards will be presented at the Swimming Victoria Awards. Further details coming soon.

For full results click here.

For team scores click here.

We now look forward to the 2023 Victorian Age LC Championships, 9-13 March. For competition information click here.

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top