One for the Records at Vic Open Champs

23 February 2022
Brendon Smith, Reidel Smith, Kaylee McKeown & Mikayla Smith
Written by: Swimming Victoria, Image: Nunawading Swimming Club

Melbourne Sports Centres (MSAC) was buzzing over the weekend with close to 500 of the most talented swimmers competing in the 2022 Victorian Open LC Championships. It was the strongest field we’ve seen in recent times, including representatives of the Australian Dolphins Swim Team, a plethora of international para stars and some of Victoria’s best emerging talent.

It was great to welcome back visitors from both interstate and overseas, with the return of the World Para Series a massive boost for this event.

Kaylee McKeown (Griffith University SC) was on fire on the opening night. The triple Olympic gold medalist stunned the crowd as she won the Women’s 200m Backstroke, with her time of 2:04.64 faster than her Olympic gold winning time. Not only did she break the Victorian Allcomers Record, but it was also the seventh fastest time in history.

She backed it up the following night, taking out the Women’s 100m Backstroke in similar style. The 20 year old hitting the wall at 58.31, another new Victorian Allcomers Record.

Brendon Smith (Nunawading) was in fine form in the Men’s 400m Freestyle, finishing strong to claim the gold in 3:51.66, ahead of Nunawading teammate Elliot Rogerson (3:53.49) and SOPAC’s Matthew Galea (3:53.76).

Not to be outdone by their brother, Mikayla and Reidel Smith battled it out in the Women’s 100m Breaststroke with Mikayla coming out on top, clocking 1:08.25, ahead of Reidel’s 1:10.19. Third place coincidently went to Hobart Aquatic’s Matilda Smith (no relation), making it a Smith trifecta!

In the para events, the Aussies were unstoppable. Melbourne Vicentre’s Ruby Halliday was impressive, claiming gold in the Women’s 50m Breaststroke MC in a time of 45.06. She also won silver medals in the Women’s 100m Breaststroke MC and Women’s 50m Butterfly MC.

‘Swimmer of the Meet’ Awards were presented to the standout Victorian performances at the conclusion of the event. Congratulations to the following swimmers:

Swimmer of the Meet – awarded to the male and female Victorian athletes who achieved the highest FINA point score for a swim at these Championships.

  • Brendon Smith (Nunawading) – Men’s 400m Freestyle
  • Mikayla Smith (Nunawading) – Women’s 200m Breaststroke

Multi Class Swimmer of the Meet – awarded to the male and female Victorian multi class athletes who swam closest to the world record time for their classification.

  • Timothy Disken (PLC Aquatic) – Men’s 200m IM Multi Class
  • Ruby Halliday (Melbourne Vicentre) Women’s 50m Breaststroke Multi Class

Congratulations also to the following award winners:

Allen Challenge Trophy – Men’s 100m Freestyle – Alexander Graham (Miami)
Pearson Challenge Shield - Men’s 400m Freestyle – Brendon Smith (Nunawading)
Pearson Challenge Shield - Men’s 800m Freestyle – Matthew Galea (SOSC)
Dr John Connell Trophy -Men’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay  – Western Melbourne Propulsion
Len Blease Shield - Men’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay – Nunawading ‘A’
Charlotte Turner Trophy - Women’s 4 x 100m Medley Relay – Nunawading ‘A’
Betty Holdsworth Trophy -Women’s 4 x 200m Freestyle Relay  – Yeronga Park ‘A’
Amy Mott Trophy - Women’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay – Nunawading ‘A’
Sam Harris Memorial Shield - Men’s 4 x 100m Freestyle Relay – Melbourne Vicentre

For full results click here.

We now look forward to the 2022 Victorian Age LC Championships, 10-14 March 2022. For competition information click here.


Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top